Investor Relations

YOU ARE HERE - Home >  Investor Relations >  SENS >  Changes to the board

Changes to the board


(Incorporated In the Republic Of South Africa)
(Registration Number 1987/002097/06)
(“Sasfin” or “the Group”)
Ordinary share code: SFN ISIN: ZAE000006565
Preference share code: SFNP ISIN: ZAE000060273


In terms of paragraph 3.59 of the Listings Requirements of the JSE Limited, shareholders are advised of the following changes to the boards of Sasfin Holdings Limited and its subsidiary, Sasfin Bank Limited:

Shareholders are advised that Mr ETB Blight and Ms DD Mokgatle, who since January 2001 and August 2006 respectively, served as non-executive directors on both the Sasfin Holdings Limited and Sasfin Bank Limited Boards, have given notice of their intention to resign as non-executive directors of both these boards at the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting to be held on 27 November 2014.

The Board wishes to thank Mr Blight and Ms Mokgatle for the valuable contributions they made over the past 13 years and 8 years respectively. Although the Group will still enjoy their knowledge, experience and valuable inputs until the Annual General Meeting in November 2014, the Board extends its best wishes to Ms Mokgatle in her future engagements, and a happy retirement to Mr Blight.

Shareholders are advised further that Ms Linda de Beer and Ms Lesego Sennelo have been appointed as independent non-executive directors of the Group and its subsidiary, Sasfin Bank Limited, with effect from 1 July 2014.

Ms Linda de Beer
Ms de Beer is a Chartered Accountant (SA) and holds a Master’s Degree in taxation. She is an independent non-executive director, financial reporting and corporate governance advisor and part-time professor at the School of Accountancy at the University of the Witwatersrand.

Ms de Beer serves as an independent non-executive director on two other JSE listed company boards where she also chairs their Audit Committees. She also serves as a member of other Board Committees at the respective listed companies.

She Chairs the Consultative Advisory Group of the International Auditing and Assurance Standards Board and is a member of various industry bodies, including the King Committee on Corporate Governance in South Africa, the Issuers’ Services Advisory Committee of the JSE, the Committee for Auditing Standards of the Independent Regulatory Board for Auditors in South Africa,
representing the JSE, and The Financial Reporting Standard Council established in terms of the Companies Act.

Ms de Beer will serve as a member of the Group Audit and Compliance and Group Risk and Capital Management Committees of Sasfin.

Ms Lesego Sennelo

Ms Sennelo is a Chartered Accountant (SA), a fellow of the International Women’s Forum and President of the African Women Chartered Accountants (AWCA) Forum – a Forum focused on the acceleration of the advancement of African women Chartered Accountants.

She currently serves as a non-executive director of another company listed on the JSE and is a director of various private companies. She has diverse professional experience in an array of financial and strategic areas.

Ms Sennelo is a board member of the South African Institute of Chartered Accountants (SAICA) and a member of the Institute of Directors of Southern Africa.

Ms Sennelo will serve as a member of the Group Audit and Compliance and Asset and Liability Committees of Sasfin.

The Board welcomes Ms de Beer and Ms Sennelo to the Group and is looking forward to the knowledge and experience they will bring to the Boards of both Sasfin Holdings Limited and Sasfin Bank Limited.

23 June 2014